Social Media and Social Networking

Get Social!

Test Whether You Are a Social Networking Addict

Posted by Vaibhav Kalamdani on February 24, 2009

social-networking-addictionAre you a social networking addict? If yes, don’t worry. You are not alone! You are just one of the millions of people who can’t live without social networks today. We all know how important it is to build communities, network with people, engage in online entertainment, promote ourselves, express our thoughts, and build professional contacts, in today’s communication era. But, are we getting too much into it? Is this really an addiction?

To know whether you are addicted to social networking, consider the following situations. If your answer is ‘Yes’ to at least 4 of these seven situations, you have been probably bitten very hard by the social networking bug:

1. I frequently log-in to a social network to post my thoughts, know what people are doing and let people know what I’ am doing in a day.

2. I feel unhappy when none of my friends comment on my status message, pictures, videos, or any other activity on the social network.

3. I try to make people comment on whatever I do on the social network, and hence I keep doing several things to grab people’s attention.

4. I like to show-off on the social networks.

5. The first thing I do when I access Internet is logging on to a social network.

6. I deliberately try to be funny and humorous while networking online.

7. I visit my friends’ profile often to see what they are upto, and what is being spoken about them.

In case your answer is ‘Yes’ to 4 or more of these situations, chances are that you have already become a social networking addict and can’t live without it. If this is the case, do not let social networks control you. Please do not forget to meet people personally. Click here to know more about how social networking is affecting our society.

Leave a Reply

 
